Archive

Henry and Breakfast
Henry and I getting fueled up with cereal and milk prior to our daily broadcast.

Previous Lessons with Archived Video

If the PDF link is not active, you can access it through our member page.

Sunday July 12: Sundays are recording a video on your phone days.

Saturday July 11: Saturdays are composing days.

Friday July 10 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/a6w3cJfmrzY

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday

    • Frère Jacques PDF
    • Soft Kitty PDF
    • Tomorrow PDF
    • Sunrise Sunset PDF
    • Try to Remember PDF
    • Strumming in the Key of A Major PDF

Thursday July 9: Day off.

  • Ack! I have to miss today. Sorry. Practice session on your own.

Wednesday July 8 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/Y11o20lIQXY

  • Strumming in the Key of A Major PDF
  • Try to Remember PDF

Tuesday July 7 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/8nNMRhGRNSo

  • Soft Kitty PDF
  • Sunrise Sunset PDF

Monday July 6 at 7 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/nVXJJ0_y_D0

  • Summer Institute Week #6:

    • IMPORTANT: Click HERE to get your resources
    • I start this class right on time, so log in five minutes early.

Monday July 6 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/hMzpNkDssn0

  • Frère Jacques PDF
  • Tomorrow PDF

Sunday July 5: Sundays are recording a video on your phone days.

Saturday July 4: Saturdays are composing days.

Friday July 3 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/bb0PWEinU8k

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
    Broadway Edition Week 2

    • Daisy Bell PDF
    • Key of F Arpeggio PDF
    • Aloha 'Oe PDF
    • Scarborough Fair PDF
    • America PDF
    • America the Beautiful PDF
    • Yankee Doodle PDF
    • O Canada PDF
    • Do Re Mi PDF
    • Edelweiss PDF
    • My Favorite Things PDF

Thursday July 2 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/bBKhImuEZYE

  • Aloha 'Oe PDF
  • Scarborough Fair PDF
  • My Favorite Things PDF

Wednesday July 1 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/4y5Jw9ZzGQk

  • Key of F Arpeggio PDF
  • Edelweiss PDF
  • O Canada PDF (a last minute addition for Phyllis!)

Tuesday June 30: Day Off

  • Day Off ... but ... Prepare these for Friday
    • America PDF
    • America the Beautiful PDF
    • Yankee Doodle PDF

Monday June 29 at 7 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/B3nIf4aG0-o

  • Summer Institute Week #5:

    • IMPORTANT: Click HERE to get your resources
    • I start this class right on time, so log in five minutes early.

Monday June 29 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/OSAJQDi3bIE

Sunday June 28: Sundays are recording a video on your phone days.

Saturday June 27: Saturdays are composing days.

Friday June 26 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/gTsqDjgsGJk

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
    Broadway Edition Week 1

    • All Through the Night PDF
    • Home on the Range PDF
    • Key of G Arpeggio PDF
    • Simple Gifts PDF
    • Give My Regards to Broadway PDF
    • Yankee Doodle Boy PDF
    • All I Ask of You PDF
    • Summertime PDF

Thursday June 25 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/1rnVtwgYcWw

  • Simple Gifts PDF
  • Summertime PDF

Wednesday June 24 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/aR7x9QdqTME

  • Key of G Arpeggio PDF
  • All I Ask of You PDF

Tuesday June 23 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/F4J6T6_Q3OY

Monday June 22 at 7 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/4lisfinD3xM

  • Global Ukulele Institute 2020 Week #4:
    • IMPORTANT: Click HERE to get your resources
    • I start this class right on time, so log in five minutes early.

Monday June 22 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/-L89hdJWD5Y

  • All Through the Night PDF
  • Give My Regards to Broadway (reposted, print June 23 version!) PDF

Sunday June 21: Sundays are recording a video on your phone days.

Saturday June 20: Saturdays are composing days.

Friday June 19 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/iFXgWWQdd2Y

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
    Happiness Edition
    • Yankee Doodle PDF
    • Three Little Birds
    • Key of C Arpeggio PDF
    • Feeling Groovy
    • Amazing Grace PDF
    • Don't Worry Be Happy
    • Happy Birthday PDF
    • Always Look on the Bright Side of Life

Thursday June 18 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/iDbRkNE6kM0

  • Happy Birthday PDF
  • Always Look on the Bright Side of Life

Wednesday June 17 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/_OUm3sSk9hk

  • Amazing Grace PDF
  • Don't Worry Be Happy

Tuesday June 16 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/f95DKJfc4o0

  • Key of C Arpeggio PDF
  • Feeling Groovy

Monday June 15 at 7 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/r3MYSKES0PE

  • Global Ukulele Institute 2020 Week #3:

    • IMPORTANT: Click HERE to get your resources
    • I start this class right on time, so log in five minutes early.
    • Be prepared to play everything from last two weeks!

Monday June 15 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/pcXT0rFF--c

  • Yankee Doodle PDF
  • Three Little Birds

Sunday June 14: Sundays are recording a video on your phone days.

Saturday June 13: Saturdays are composing days.

Friday June 12 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/Wf_BNnwnH9k

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
    Elvis Edition

    • My Spaghetti Monster PDF
    • Love Me Tender
    • Three Blind Mice PDF
    • Blue Hawaii
    • Strumming in the Key of C Major (Waltzing Matilda) PDF
    • Can't Help Falling in Love
    • Brahm's Lullaby PDF
    • Are You Lonesome Tonight?

Thursday June 11 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/WhvnHGv5U20

  • Brahm's Lullaby PDF
  • Are You Lonesome Tonight?

Wednesday June 10 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/K5mqHFqFOqI

  • Strumming in the Key of C Major PDF
  • Can't Help Falling in Love

Tuesday June 9 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/yG0_yndUoFU

  • Three Blind Mice PDF
  • Blue Hawaii

Monday June 8 at 7 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/aafyiAqGYP4

  • Summer Institute Two Chord Songs Week
    • IMPORTANT: Click HERE to get your resources
    • I start this class right on time, so log in five minutes early.
    • Be prepared to play everything from last week too

Monday June 8 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/h5v5JRRjah8

  • My Spaghetti Monster PDF
  • Love Me Tender

Sunday June 7: Sundays are recording a video on your phone days.

Saturday June 6: Saturdays are composing days.

Friday June 5 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/5whN4yrCNn4

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
    Mozart-ish Edition

    • Frère Jacques PDF
    • Soft Kitty PDF
    • Strumming in the Key of A Major PDF
    • Ukulele C Major Scale PDF
    • Eine Kleine Nachtmusik Medley PDF

Thursday June 4 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/gaDCEb1vuCU

  • Eine Kleine Nachtmusik Medley PDF
  • Ukulele C Major Scale PDF

Wednesday June 3 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/Qq_mTfEbXh4

  • Eine Kleine Nachtmusik Medley PDF
  • Strumming in the Key of A Major PDF

Tuesday June 2 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/hRFhXbu63-Q

  • Eine Kleine Nachtmusik Medley PDF
  • Soft Kitty PDF

Monday June 1 at 7 pm MDT:
Summer Institute Week 1
https://youtu.be/Mhk2XhRnqnY

  • Institute Kick Off!
  • Weekly "homework" sheet PDF
  • Ensemble Certification PDF
  • Frère Jacques PDF
  • "TuffUke" Blank PDF
  • Key Charts PDF
  • Summer Arpeggios! What? How? Why?
    • Please read pages 1 and 62!
    • We will play C Major
    • Download the BOOK
    • Download the SOUND FILES

Monday June 1 at 1 pm MDT:
https://youtu.be/C7tqvWbkUhE

  • Ah Vous Dirai-Je Maman PDF
  • Frère Jacques PDF

Sunday May 31 at 1 pm Mountain: Day Off.
Recording and posting day.

Saturday May 30 at 1 pm Mountain: Day Off.
Songwriting day.

Friday May 29 at 1 pm Mountain:
Gary gets a haircut day.
https://youtu.be/oPK1hTNwRKg

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
    Moon Edition

    • Key of F Arpeggio PDF
    • Love Me Tender
    • Aloha 'Oe PDF
    • Scarborough Fair PDF
    • Moonshadow
    • By the Light of the Silvery Moon PDF
    • It's Only a Paper Moon
    • Blue Moon
    • Fly Me to the Moon
    • Moon River

Thursday May 28 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/4bni__TAv50

  • Scarborough Fair PDF
  • Moonshadow
  • By the Light of the Silvery Moon PDF

Wednesday May 27 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/Iyg208e33VY

  • Aloha 'Oe PDF
  • It's Only a Paper Moon
  • Moon River

Tuesday May 26 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/QFLzEp7wE_Q

  • Key of F Arpeggio PDF
  • Love Me Tender
  • Blue Moon
  • Fly Me to the Moon

Monday May 25: Day Off.
Memorial Day holiday in the United States

Sunday May 24: Day Off
Record your song and Dropbox it to Gary.

Saturday May 23: Day Off
Write a song with your feelings about Yoko.

Friday May 22 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/4wOrxf_h-a0

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
    Beatles Edition

    • Key of G Arpeggio PDF
    • Home on the Range PDF
    • Simple Gifts PDF
    • Daisy Bell PDF
    • Something
    • Here Comes the Sun
    • All My Loving
    • Imagine

Thursday May 21 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/jAIXVsAZn5c

  • Daisy Bell PDF
  • Something

Wednesday May 20 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/aPC5x3al9v4

  • Simple Gifts PDF
  • Here Comes the Sun

Tuesday May 19 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/iPneIcDOSJw

  • Key of G Arpeggio PDF
  • All My Loving

Monday May 18 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/0tqjJWubHXs

  • Home on the Range PDF
  • Imagine

Sunday May 17: Day Off
Record your song and Dropbox it to Gary

Saturday May 16: Day Off
Write a song especially by re-writing the lyrics to Whiskey in the Jar.

Friday May 15 at 1 pm MDT:
Part 1: https://youtu.be/CO3a3Awq-5E
Part 2: https://youtu.be/hprwxIVazVU

  • Kick Yer Fanny Friday!
  • Songs of Ireland on Ukulele

    • Key of C Arpeggio PDF
    • Amazing Grace PDF
    • Happy Birthday PDF
    • All Through the Night PDF
    • Danny Boy PDF
    • Last Rose of Summer PDF
    • Minstrel Boy PDF
    • Whiskey in the Jar PDF
    • Molly Malone PDF

Thursday May 14 at 1 pm Mountain: 
https://youtu.be/5TjpJvmu_TY

  • All Through the Night PDF
  • Happy Birthday PDF
  • Minstrel Boy PDF
  • Whiskey in the Jar PDF
  • Molly Malone PDF

Wednesday May 13 at 1 pm Mountain:

  • I held class at my dentist office today. We played "Ouch" by the Pain Factory.

Tuesday May 12 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/JfLWMR2y9wE

  • Amazing Grace PDF
  • Last Rose of Summer PDF

Monday May 11 at 1 pm Mountain:
https://youtu.be/fE9nzVqsepc

  • Key of C Arpeggio PDF
  • Danny Boy PDF

Sunday May 10: Day Off

  • We're changing the schedule. Starting Monday, classes will move to 1 pm Mountain time.

Saturday May 9: Day Off

  • Can you play the songs from the week using chords, tabs, and TuffUke?
  • Write a song with little salsa and spice and a hint of tequila.
  • Have you videotaped yourself playing a tune?
  • Have you sent Gary an email to have a meaningful connection with a dude who's trying to get you to play like a lute player from the 17th century?

Friday May 8:
https://youtu.be/JkaBRYeG9AQ

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
  • Traditional Songs of Mexico for Ukulele
    • Three Blind Mice PDF
    • Waltzing Matilda PDF
    • Brahm's Lullaby PDF
    • Yankee Doodle PDF
    • Little Boxes
    • Cielito Lindo PDF
    • Las Mañanitas PDF
    • Las Chiapanecas PDF
    • La Cucaracha PDF
    • Jarabe Tapatio PDF

Thursday May 7:
https://youtu.be/T06L2ZuJ6mo

  • Little Boxes
  • Jarabe Tapatio PDF

Wednesday May 6:
https://youtu.be/FrUa_UE1tkM

  • Yankee Doodle PDF
  • La Cucaracha PDF

Tuesday May 5:
https://youtu.be/m-NJyqBbAL0

  • Brahm's Lullaby PDF
  • Las Chiapanecas PDF

Monday May 4:
https://youtu.be/6-Vb9ZkdYYs

  • Strumming in the Key of C Major PDF
  • Las Mañanitas PDF

Sunday May 3:
https://youtu.be/atwqQHhMrSI

  • Three Blind Mice PDF
  • Cielito Lindo PDF

Saturday May 2: Day Off!

  • Can you play the songs from the week using chords, tabs, and TuffUke?
  • Write a song with a Flower Power theme. Peace.
  • Have you videotaped yourself playing a tune?
  • Have you sent Gary an email to have a meaningful connection with a dude who's trying to get you to play like a lute player from the 17th century?

Friday May 1:
https://youtu.be/yGMzlB3alaE

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Ukulele Concert
  • Songs of the 60s

    • Frère Jacques PDF
    • Soft Kitty PDF
    • My Spaghetti Monster PDF
    • Both Sides Now
    • Bridge Over Troubled Water
    • Can't Take My Eyes Off of You
    • Downtown
    • Lara's Theme

Thursday April 30:
https://youtu.be/R5E7FZPSbes

  • My Spaghetti Monster PDF
  • Downtown

Wednesday April 29:
Take 2: https://youtu.be/RdZWToPPySA

  • Ukulele C Major Scale PDF
  • Can't Take My Eyes Off of You

Tuesday April 28:
https://youtu.be/iE2MZb-G_Qg

  • Strumming in the Key of A Major PDF
  • Both Sides Now

Monday April 27:
https://youtu.be/njRnmWzT1Qg

  • Soft Kitty PDF
  • Lara's Theme

Sunday April 26:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bomFoyUlUmk

  • Frère Jacques PDF
  • Bridge Over Troubled Water

Saturday April 25: Day Off!

  • Can you play the songs from the week using chords, tabs, and TuffUke?
  • Are you writing a song in the Key of F? Essential Chords: F, Dm, Bb, C or C7.
  • Have you videotaped yourself playing a tune?
  • Have you sent Gary an email to have a meaningful connection with a dude who's trying to get you to play like a lute player from the 17th century?

Friday April 24: Doors open at 4:20 MDT.
https://youtu.be/6oKxXD3009E

  • International Kick Yer Fanny Friday
  • Ukulele Concert Starring YOU
    • Aloha 'Oe PDF
    • Clementine PDF
    • Colorado Trail PDF
    • Daisy Bell PDF
    • Don't Fence Me In
    • Down in the Valley PDF
    • Ghost Riders in the Sky
    • Happy Trails
    • Key of F Arpeggio PDF
    • Love Me Tender
    • Red River Valley PDF
    • Scarborough Fair PDF
    • Simple Gifts PDF
    • Streets of Laredo PDF
    • Tom Dooley PDF
    • You are My Sunshine PDF

§ Thursday April 23:
https://youtu.be/LmDpjZYpXJ8

  • Aloha 'Oe PDF
  • Scarborough Fair PDF
  • Down in the Valley PDF
  • Tom Dooley PDF

Wednesday April 22:
1st Try: https://youtu.be/Et1D4bo9cOk
2nd Try: https://youtu.be/GShe-vEE5oE

  • Key of F Arpeggio PDF
  • Don't Fence Me In
  • You are My Sunshine PDF

§ Tuesday April 21:
https://youtu.be/6HivWvCK5HQ

  • Love Me Tender
  • Red River Valley PDF
  • Ghost Riders in the Sky

Monday April 20:
https://youtu.be/DUOhdp8Ucgw

  • Daisy Bell PDF
  • Happy Trails
  • Clementine PDF

Sunday April 19:
https://youtu.be/D0iCGtlsHGc

  • Simple Gifts PDF
  • Colorado Trail PDF
  • Streets of Laredo PDF

Saturday April 18: Day Off!

  • Can you play the songs using chords, tabs, and TuffUke?
  • Can you play all ten songs from yesterday?
  • Are you writing a song using the chords in the Key of G?
  • Have you videotaped yourself?
  • Have you sent Gary an email telling him he's wonderful? He's needy you know.

§ Friday April 17:
https://youtu.be/7CP-PBmnsgc

Thursday April 16: 
https://youtu.be/fbJrZQb_UAQ

Wednesday April 15: 
https://youtu.be/ghiSgZgcWls

Tuesday April 14:
https://youtu.be/LcH3_it2Wn4

Monday April 13: 
https://youtu.be/KFAw0YpmJf4

Sunday April 12: 
https://youtu.be/JZU3EiWMSmk

Saturday April 11:

  • Day Off: Please go back through the songsheets and lessons from previous days and make sure you can play everything. Hopefully you can perform each piece in at least three different ways:
    • Chords and singing at a smooth pace. Changing chords at tempo is the goal. Slow down!
    • Straight-line melody using standard notation and tablature. Keep your tempo steady.
    • Bring it together with a breathtakingly beautiful presentation of TuffUke. Did I mention ... slow down?!
  • Make a Video! Today is a great day to put your cell phone in front of you, make a video of you playing your ukulele, and then putting the file into your DropBox and sending me the link. You don't have to post it on YouTube, Facebook or Instagram because then your friends will ask you questions. Just send it to me ... 'cuz I know what you're dealing with.
  • Send Gary an Email: Say "hey" and let me know what things in the program are working for you, what things are a disaster, and what goals and dreams you have as an ukulele-playing musician. I'm HERE.

Friday April 10: Kick Yer Fanny Fridays!

Thursday April 9:

Wednesday April 8:

Tuesday April 7:

Monday April 6:

Sunday April 5:

Saturday April 4:

  • Day Off: Please go back through the song sheets and lessons below and make sure you can play everything. Hopefully you can perform each piece in at least three different ways:
    • chords and singing at a smooth pace
    • straight-line melody using either standard notation or tablature
    • bring it together with a breathtakingly beautiful presentation of TuffUke
  • AND, on Sunday we'll be playing the entire "Bach" Menuett Suite ... Saturday is a great day to study the entire piece and get your chops up for an exciting turning point in your ukulele career. And of course if that's too hard right now, you can strum along using those chords ... they're all good for you and will be necessary in other songs.

Happy Friday! April 3:

Thursday April 2:

Wednesday April 1:

Tuesday March 31:

Monday March 30:

Sunday March 29:

Saturday March 28:

  • Day Off: Please go back through the songsheets and lessons below and make sure you can play everything. Hopefully you can perform each piece in at least three different ways:
    • chords and singing at a smooth pace
    • straight-line melody using either standard notation or tablature
    • bring it together with a breathtakingly beautiful presentation of TuffUke

Friday March 27:

Thursday March 26:

Wednesday March 25:

Tuesday March 24:

Monday March 23:

Sunday March 22:

Saturday March 21: No lesson

Friday March 20: